| ENG
NUMBER OF
WISHES GRANTED
1750
+
Home  >  Refer A Child  >  Frequently-Asked Questions
Refer A Chlid

Frequently Asked Questions

  1. Who is eligible for a wish?

    Any child between the age of 3 and 17 in Hong Kong and Macau* with life-threatening medical conditions may be eligible for a wish. Wish children must have a written recommendation and approval from their doctor.

  2. Who can refer children for a wish?

    Children who may be eligible to receive a wish can be referred by:

    1. Medical professionals treating the child, such as doctors and nurses
    2. A parent or legal guardian of the potential wish child
    3. The potential wish child
    Most of our referrals now come from doctors. Our recommendation form may be filled in by ward managers, nurses or social workers, but it has to be certified and countersigned by the child's doctor.

  3. How many wishes can a child have?

    Make-A-Wish® Hong Kong can only fulfill one wish per child.

  4. Is there any restriction to a child's wish?

    A "wish" means "something that the child wants to do, to have, to meet, to be or to give", such as travelling overseas, meeting with favorite idols, having a new computer or TV set or being a writer etc.

    We do not supply medical equipment. Other than that, the wishes are limited only by the child's imagination!

    Make-A-Wish® Hong Kong approves each application with reference to our established guidelines. Our first concern is the child's health condition, safety, the positive impacts to him/her and the nature of his/her wish. We believe when a wish comes true, it will bring much of gratification and courage to the children by the involvement of his / her family with integration of love and care; in additional to having unforgettable memory.

  5. Who approves the child's wish?

    The Executive Committee of Make-A-Wish® Hong Kong makes the final decision as to whether the child is eligible.

  6. How much does Make-A-Wish® Hong Kong charge for a wish?

    Make-A-Wish® Hong Kong aims at providing good memory to children by granting wishes, therefore, applicants are not necessary to pay for their wishes. Meanwhile, we do not assess the financial conditions of the families. We would seek for support from donors and sponsors for children’s wishes. This arrangement would lesson our financial burden as well as providing more opportunities for our donors and sponsors to implement corporate social responsibilities. Children would be benefited from more exposure to the community which is "in addition to" his / her wish.

  7. Is a non-Hong Kong permanent resident eligible for a Wish?

    We accept applications from any children who are under 18 years old with life-threatening medical conditions. Children are not required to be permanent residents of Hong Kong or Macau, provided that he/she receives medical treatments in Hong Kong or Macau with his/her doctor's recommendation.

  8. Must the family agree to publicize their information about a wish for the promotional work of Make-A-Wish® Hong Kong or media reporting?

    Make-A-Wish® Hong Kong respects the family's desire in this regard. We must have the families' consent when we pick their stories for our promotion and publicity. Release forms for the use of information and photographs taken must be signed by parents or guardians if they are agreeable.

    In fact, we encourage benefited children and families to share the "wish come true process and happiness" with the public. If more people know our work, more children would have opportunities to enjoy the joy as their wishes may also come true.

    About Wish Referral Privacy - Make-A-Wish® Hong Kong respects the privacy of the children and families it serves. All medical information is considered confidential and would not be discussed with outside parties unless it is required for the wish and the child’s parent(s) or guardian(s) have given their consent.

  9. What are the wishes that children want to come true mostly?

    The wishes of children can be classified into 5 categories generally, they are "I want to have…", "I want to go…", "I want to meet…", "I want to be…", and "I want to give...".

    Most of the children want to travel or visit some interesting places; Disneyland is the most popular choice. They are also keen on meeting their favorite idols/characters. Computer is the mostly wanted item for them and some would like to be a writer or an artist.

  10. If a child wishes for a trip or an event, who can accompany him or her? What responsibility does the family have?

    It is Make-A-Wish® Hong Kong's practice to involve any members of the immediate family in the wish and, occasionally, even another special person whom the child particularly wishes to include. If the child's condition requires medical attention, Make-A-Wish® Hong Kong welcomes the presence of a doctor and/or nurse.

    The child's parents or guardians will be responsible for escorting the child on the Wish Trip. They are also required to complete and sign a Deed of Release, that Make-A-Wish® Hong Kong will not be liable to any participant of the trip in respect to any deterioration in health condition, damage, loss or claim connected with the trip, however, it might arise. We also ask that the family to share some photographs of the Wish with us. Our staff and volunteers would do all the works involved in planning a Wish, down to the smallest detail, and of course, Make-A-Wish® Hong Kong pays for basically everything to have a child’s heartfelt wish come true.

* For those who are receiving medical treatments in Hong Kong and Macau

| ENG
已實現的願望
1710
+
主頁  >  個案轉介  >  常見問題
個案轉介

常見問題

  1. 誰有資格申請願望?

    任何3至17歲患有重病的香港及澳門*小朋友,均可申請願望成真基金的服務。所有申請者必須得到其主診醫生的書面推薦。

  2. 誰可以轉介兒童申請願望?

    一般是由以下3個途徑轉介符合資格的兒童申請願望:

    1. 負責照顧兒童的醫護人員,例如醫生或護士
    2. 兒童的父母或合法監護人
    3. 希望願望成真的兒童
    大部份的轉介是來自兒童的醫生。病房主管、護士或社工均可代填表格,但同時需要兒童的主診醫生核實資料和聯署。

  3. 每個兒童可以有多少個願望?

    願望成真基金只可以幫助每個兒童一個願望。

  4. 何謂「願望」?有沒有任何限制?

    「願望」是指申請的兒童期待已久想做的事情或擁有的物品,例如去外地旅行、與喜歡的偶像見面、擁有一部電腦、電視機及成為小作家等。願望成真基金是不會提供醫療設備的,除此以外,「願望」的內容就全憑兒童的想像力了!

    願望成真基金會根據訂下的守則批核每個申請。當然我們首要的考慮是病童的健康狀況、安全、「願望」可帶給他們的益處。我們相信兒童達成願望後,除了擁有難忘的記憶外,還會因家人的參與,重新凝聚愛與關懷的力量,擁有莫大的喜悅和勇氣。

  5. 誰批核兒童的願望?

    兒童的願望是由願望成真基金的董事會負責最終的批核工作。

  6. 接受「願望成真基金」服務的家庭是否需要支付任何費用?

    願望成真基金的目的是希望透過「達成願望」令病童及其家人留下美好的回憶,因此,達成願望所需的費用均由基金支付;而在批核申請時,我們亦不會考慮申請家庭的經濟狀況。

    我們有時候也會為兒童的願望,尋找合適的贊助。此舉不但可以減輕我們的開支,也可讓不同的機構有更多的機會履行企業社會責任,回饋社會;而受惠的小朋友亦可接觸到社會更廣闊的層面,在達成願望之餘,加添一點意義。

  7. 如病童並非香港居民,可否申請願望成真基金的服務?

    願望成真基金的服務對象是18歲以下患重病、在香港或澳門接受治療的兒童,幫助他們願望成真。申請的兒童不必是香港或澳門居民,只要是在香港或澳門接受治療及由主診醫生推薦便可。

  8. 病童和其家庭的背景資料和願望成真的過程是否必須給予願望成真基金用作宣傳之用,或被傳媒報導?

    願望成真基金是會將病童和其家庭的意願放於首位。若需要選用個案作宣傳或推廣服務時,我們事先必會徵求個案中的主角同意。願望成真基金在得到兒童的家長或合法監護人的書面同意後才會使用其資料或照片。

    然而,我們相信若有更多兒童和公眾認識願望成真基金的工作,便會有更多的病童有機會感受到願望成真所帶來之喜悅;因此,我們希望個案中的小朋友能夠與其他人分享他 / 她願望成真的過程和感受,令大眾也可以領略到箇中的意義。

    有關願望成真的私隱權利─願望成真基金尊重接受服務兒童及其家庭的私隱權。除非資料與想達成的願望有關,否則,在未得到受惠兒童的家長或監護人同意前,所有有關醫療資料均會保密處理而不向外界透露。

  9. 哪些願望是最多小朋友希望成真的呢?

    小朋友的願望大致可分為五類,分別是「我想擁有…」、「我想到訪…」、「我想會見…」、「我想成為…」和「我想貢獻…」。

    許多小朋友希望到某些地方參觀,當中以「廸士尼樂園」最受歡迎,其次是希望見到自己喜愛的偶像 / 人物,而電腦則是他們最常渴望擁有的物品,亦有小朋友會希望可以成為作家或藝術家等。

  10. 部份兒童的願望是到外地旅行或出席某些活動,家人可否陪同他們出席?其家人又有何責任?

    願望成真基金一向鼓勵兒童的家人和在兒童心目中的特別人物,一同參與願望達成的過程;若兒童的健康情況需要醫護人員陪同,我們也歡迎其醫生 / 護士一同出席。

    兒童的父母或監護人在行程中會負責帶領小朋友,而他/她們也需要在出發前簽署一份有關權責的協議,同意願望成真基金是無需要為參與行程者的健康狀況、任何損傷、損失等負上責任;此外,參與的家庭並需要提供旅遊時所拍的照片。願望成真基金會支付有關的開支,而我們的職員和義工也會為受惠家庭作出最仔細安排。

* 在香港及澳門接受正統醫療、包括其他國籍的小朋友。